Books, Favorites

The Blackthorn Key Series


The Blackthorn Key Series by Kevin Sands

My Stars: 6 of 5!!

I LOVEEEEEE this book series!! I have yet to read Call of the Wraith, but I am sure it’s great!!!

Christopher is Apothecary Benedict Blackthorn’s apprentice. Life is busy and exciting, but becomes even more so when members of the apothecary guild are found brutally murdered. It is worrisome for 12 year old Christopher and his friend Tom, but becomes deeply personal when Blackthorn is murdered in his own shop. Christopher learns that Blackthorn had a secret that he died to protect, and now the burden has fallen on the boy. Killers after him; a mystery to solve; can Christopher and Tom do it all?

I really recommend this book series. I can’t believe there was no magic in it! So many of the books I’ve read have fantasy elements, and I loved this series as much as I love ones with magic! It is also interesting to see the medicines people used to use before the more modern advancements.

I’d rate it PG; the violence is not gory and the language is minimal.

You should also check out Rachael Pope’s review of this book:

https://rpbooklist.wordpress.com/2019/02/27/the-blackthorn-key-by-kevin-sands/

All in all, good job with this series, Mr. Sands! 🙌🙌 Definitely a new favorite for me!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.